The Dangers of Craigslist

I was reading another blog about the dangers of Craigslist and how people will post about giving their pet away for free. Every time I see this, I shudder. It really scares me to see an animal being given away. I realize that the owner just wants the animal to have a better chance to have a happy home, but unfortunately “free” pets is a predators signal. 

I’m sure you have read my previous blogs on individuals who have been in the news surrounding animal neglect and abuse.  If you aren’t familiar, please take a read of the following:

https://ramblingpets.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/so-glad-gail-benoit-is-not-getting-what-she-wants/

https://ramblingpets.wordpress.com/2012/12/04/cruelty-charges-laid-in-captain-the-german-shephards-death/

https://ramblingpets.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/debbie-andrews-skips-town-on-animal-cruelty-charges-pass-this-around/

Image

 

3 thoughts on “The Dangers of Craigslist

  1. I’ve seen plenty of dogs for free on Craigslist and you are right, it is scary. I wish that these pet parents would be more responsible, caring, and concern about giving a dog without checking out the person and asking for updates and visits.

    • Often, if I see one, I will write to the poster’s email and ask them to either change their mind and ask for an adoption fee, as well as screen for potential owners. I also volunteer with a Rescue Organization and will give them our organizations link so they can inquire about asking someone to foster the pet.

Leave a Reply

