Car Accidents and Animals

Today about 2pm PST, a large “bang” could be heard from our home. I said to my spouse that didn’t sound good. Both of us are ones who believe in helping others so he went to see what happened. When he came back he told me “its a bad one” to bring blankets and the first aid kit. I said ok, be right there.

I arrive on he scene and see 3 vehicles. One is a grey dodge 2500 truck flipped on its side, the other is a Blue Dodge Caravan and the other at best guest was a Green Ford Focus.

I crossed the street and in doing so, I saw a man, in my eyes deceased and to the right of me a tall gentlemen holding what appeared to be his dog, a Pomeranian. He was in shock, unaware of how this accident came to be. I could see lacerations on his head, his dog I was able to leash and he and I stayed with the man til he was taken by ambulance.

The Blue Dodge Caravan had 3 dogs in it. They had been returning from doing rehabilitation work with others. They were loose in the car. Once everything had been assessed, my spouse leashed them up and we had them temporarily with someone else til we could safely get them altogether with me. We put the chihuahua in a crate as he/she was terrified.

It took a bit of time, rain coming down very hard, soaked through clothing, all that I could think of making sure these animals were safe. There are no people who can make sure they are safe, especially if they are the victims in the scene of a car accident. Or, like one of the individuals, deceased.

Kennels save lives, but so do bystanders who take a chance and offer to help. We took a chance and our rescue and volunteer experience really helped today.

Will be lighting a candle for the man who died today in front of our house in a 3 car t-boned accident. Thanks to Langley Animal Protection Society (LAPS) for assisting in taking the 3 dogs who need temporary homes til their families can be notified.

To the innocent we would safe you again!

Rescue, Donate, Adopt Don’t Shop

Image

2 thoughts on “Car Accidents and Animals

  1. Pingback: The Blog Farm | Out of Body Feeling

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.