National Pet Memorial Day

Every year, on the second Sunday of September, pet owners join together to honor their pets passed and present

and think about and share with others the important role that their beloved pets have played, and do play, in their lives.

Today I honor my dogs Blaze, Lucy and Tika who are presently with me. I honor my cats Jingles, Cinder and Ella who are also with me. I also honor my cat Mischief, my beautiful dogs Rizzo and Teo. I would also like to take a moment to honor two dogs I have had the pleasure of having in my life through my volunteer work with rescue, Astro and Paco.

One idea that has been shared and is becoming a popular tradition on National Pet Memorial Day, is:

  • Plant a tree or a shrub as a living memorial.

For more information, see: http://www.iaopc.com/professionals/national-pet-memorial-day

NATIONAL PET MEMORIAL DAY HISTORY

National Pet Memorial Day, an “unofficial” national holiday, was established by the International Association of Pet Cemeteries and Crematories.

Rainbow Bridge

4 thoughts on “National Pet Memorial Day

  1. What a beautiful thought – to plant a living memorial. There are many ways to honor the memory of a pet. Last year, the beloved dog of a co worker died. My co worker donated a bullet proof vest for a police dog. Her sister had died several months before, and I think doing this helped in both healing processes.

Leave a Reply

